The Head and the Heart


Still not over Christmas? That holiday is so two weeks from now. Why not celebrate the next big thing in holidays, Valentines Day? And while you're at it, check out this sweet compilation of romantic covers that Starbucks is putting out in February. This version of Sweetheart is actually the 5th in the Sweetheart series.

The Valentines Day album, called Sweetheart 2014 has a whole bunch of artists we at WYEP love, doing covers of songs about love. You'll hear Phosphorescent covering Bob Dylan's "Tomorrow Is A Long Time", Beck doing John Lennon's "Love", The Head and the Heart channeling Harry Nilsson in their version of "Don't Forget Me", Vampire Weekend's Andrea Bocelli inspired "Con Te Partirò", and many others. You can find the whole track listing below, and you can find Sweetheart 2014 on sale February 4th.

Sweetheart 2014:

01 Jim James: "Turn Your Lights Down Low" (Bob Marley cover)
02 Vampire Weekend: "Con Te Partirò" (Inspired by the Andrea Bocelli recording)
03 Beck: "Love" (John Lennon cover)
04 Phosphorescent: "Tomorrow Is A Long Time" (Bob Dylan cover)
05 The Head and the Heart: "Don’t Forget Me" (Harry Nilsson cover)
06 Valerie June: "Happy or Lonesome" (the Carter Family cover)
07 Bahamas: "Always on My Mind" (Willie Nelson cover)
08 Thao: "If You Were Mine" (Ray Charles cover)
09 Ben Harper: "Fade Into You" (Mazzy Star cover)
10 Fiona Apple: "I’m In The Middle of a Riddle" (Anton Karas cover)
11 Brandi Carlile: "The Chain" (Fleetwood Mac cover)
12 Blake Mills: "I Hope" (Bobby Charles cover)
13 Sharon Jones: "Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours" (Stevie Wonder cover)

Just the track list itself gets us in the mood for lovin', so this album should be pretty excellent. As a sneak peek for your ears, listen to Jim James (of My Morning Jacket) cover Bob Marley's "Turn Your Lights Down Low" here. Lay back with your sweetheart and a glass of wine, and get ready for this sweet Valentine's Day.


Music News New Music


Bahamas Beck Ben Harper Blake Mills Brandi Carlile Fiona Apple Jim James Morning Mix Phosphorescent Sharon Jones Thao The Head and the Heart Valerie June Vampire weekend

Every Wednesday at 9:13 am, one of Pittsburgh's finest music writers joins me (Cindy Howes) on the Morning Mix to play a couple favorite new songs and share some insight. Today we welcome Scott Mervis of The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

In case you missed it here's what he played with commentary by Scott:
Midlake, "Antiphon" - The lush-sounding folk-rock band from Denton,
Texas, was strong enough in the vocal department that it was able to
lose its main singer, Tim Smith, and carry on with guitarist Greg
Pulido as the new frontman. This song is the title track from the
band's fourth album, due Nov. 5.

The Head and the Heart, "Shake" - Josiah Johnson and Charity Rose
Thielen put their voices together beautifully on this joyful
indie-folk song from the Seattle band's forthcoming album "Let's Be
Still." By the sound of it, there won't be a lot of stillness on the
band's sophomore effort.




9:13 Buzz Midlake Morning Mix Scott Mervis The Head and the Heart


Seattle natives The Head and the Heart have released the first single, "Shake" off of their upcoming sophomore release Let's Be Still.  The self-titled albumThe Head and the Heart propelled the six-piece indie-folk band from open mic nights to sold-out performances and musical festivals.  Needless to say, there is a lot of hype around the upcoming record.  There is a different sound to the upcoming release compared to their debut, Let's Be Still features more of a 70s rock style to it.

Let's Be Still is produced with the help of Shawn Simmons and mixed by Peter Katis (Swell Season, The National). The Head and the Heart's new album Let's Be Still is due to be released on October 15 on Sub Pop Records.  You can listen to the new single, "Shake," below.



New Music


Let's Be Still Morning Mix Shake The Head and the Heart
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google+ icon
Instagram icon
RSS icon
Vimeo icon