Peter Gabriel announces covers album

The New Music Express reports today that Peter Gabriel has confirmed what and who's songs he will be covering on his forthcoming album.   "Scratch My Back" will be released in January and will feature covers of songs from legendary artists like Talking Heads, Paul Simon, Neil Young, David Bowie and Randy Newman.  Apparently, his cover of Vampire Weekend's "Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa" earlier this year was just scratching the surface of Gabriel's appreciation of "younger" acts, as he will also be covering songs by Arcade Fire,  Bon Iver,  Elbow, The Magnetic Fields and Regina Spektor. NME reports that the tracklisting for 'Scratch My Back' is as follows: 'Heroes' (David Bowie) 'The Boy In The Bubble' (Paul Simon) 'Mirrorball' (Elbow) 'Flume' (Bon Iver) 'Listening Wind' (Talking Heads) 'The Power Of The Heart' (Lou Reed) 'My Body Is A Cage' (Arcade Fire) 'The Book Of Love' (The Magnetic Fields) 'I Think It’s Going To Rain Today' (Randy Newman) 'Apres Moi' (Regina Spektor) 'Philadelphia' (Neil Young) 'Street Spirit' (Radiohead)