Key Tracks: Phish

Below are the 5 key tracks that you need to know from Phish.


Phish, who have been playing together for over 30 years now, met at the University of Vermont and are at the forefront of the jam band scene. They are renowned for their live performances and devout fans. Phish are Trey Anastasio (guitar), Mike Gordon (bass), Page McConnell (keys) and Jon Fishman (Drums).


  • Song: "Birds of a Feather"

  • Album: The Story of the Ghost
  • Year: 1998
  • Comment: One of the more upbeat tracks on their largely downtempo, eerie 1998 release.



  • Song: "Chalkdust Torture"

  • Album: A Picture of Nectar
  • Year: 1992
  • Comment: This track is known for its rock and roll opening. This version at SPAC last year features Anastasio on drums during the jam section.



  • Song: "Bouncing Around The Room"

  • Album: Lawn Boy
  • Year: 1990
  • Comment: A fan favorite from their second official studio release.



  • Song: "Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan"

  • Album: Joy
  • Year: 2009
  • Comment: This song is featured on their first release after their hiatus. The album is dedicated to Anastasio's sister.



  • Song: "Down With Disease"

  • Album: Hoist
  • Year: 1994
  • Comment: Another fan favorite, this is the only Phish song with an official music video, directed by their very own bassist, Mike Gordon.



Catch Key Tracks every weekday during the Midday Mix at 1 PM on 91.3 WYEP.